Elliott Yamin has a song for you.

Elliott Yamin has a 30-second clip of a new song floating around the Internet. It’s called “Movin’ On,” and I have to say, it sounds really excellent. Very neo-soul, like John Legend, whom I adore. I hope it sells well, but I think the most important thing is that Elliott has creative control and puts out the type of album he wants…and, of course, that his fans are pleased.

When compared to the treacle of “Dream Myself Awake,” it’s enough to make this Taylor fan wish that Taylor hadn’t won, and had gotten the Hickory deal instead. Oh, well.

19 Responses to “Elliott Yamin has a song for you.”


  1. 1 Linda4Elliott February 2, 2007 at 8:41 pm

    The 30 second snippet is fantastic. I am so happy and proud of Elliott. I wish all the artists from American Idol were given more creative control over what kind of music they release. Elliott has a beautiful, long career in front of him if this is any indication of what is to come!!

  2. 2 Laura February 2, 2007 at 9:54 pm

    Thank you for your blog entry about Elliott’s song. I’m happy that you and so many other people like the snippet of “Movin’ On”. I can’t wait for the full song and for the full CD.

    March 20th will be a great day because I will have Elliott’s CD in my hands.

    Thanks again.

  3. 3 nanassetta February 2, 2007 at 10:08 pm

    Elliott is a top class artist. This song is a winner! I can only imagine what an entire CD of Elliott will be like! Thanks for posting this wonderful news on Elliott.

  4. 4 Brenda February 2, 2007 at 10:36 pm

    Thanks for posting this…..I think Elliott has a bright,long future in music ahead of him. His voice just “melts” you.

  5. 5 sange February 3, 2007 at 12:15 am

    Thanks for the article!I’ve been saying all along Thank God Elliott didn’t win!He truly is in a class all his own,his voice is breathtaking,like a magnet,it pulls you right in-I NEED MORE!!!!Thanks again!

  6. 6 evie taylor February 3, 2007 at 12:28 am

    thanks for the elliott love….-as one of his (fan from the beginning) supporters, i have no doubt that he will be brilliantly successful, and will have a long and enduring career. he is LOVED.

  7. 7 artymom February 3, 2007 at 2:18 am

    Now this is the Elliott I was looking forward to. The short snippet only whets my appetite for more, more, more of that soulful sound. Can’t wait to hear his entire CD. Should be awesome!

  8. 8 Courtney February 3, 2007 at 3:37 am

    His voice is excellent. One of the best I’ve heard in a long time! I hope his album does well!

  9. 9 tonia February 3, 2007 at 9:55 am

    Elliott will be a music legend. He’s got the XYZ factor that hooks everyone who loves music no matter what generation. I’ve always loved him from the start and my love – as all his other fans – is here to stay…..

  10. 10 Benmyoho February 3, 2007 at 11:19 am

    I love the song to death. It’s amazing how Elliott became a master songwriter on top of his being a master-class vocalist. YAY, the new MEGASTAR has come!

  11. 11 CathyEM February 3, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    I just love the texture of Elliott’s voice. This short snippet combines smooth R&B with a modern funky twist. I can’t wait to hear the rest of the single and whole CD!!

  12. 12 E-ternally February 3, 2007 at 4:22 pm

    TY for the Elliott shout-out! I love his smooth tone! Truly E’s one Funky White Boy! Can’t wait to Buy the CD!

  13. 13 Joanne February 3, 2007 at 7:53 pm

    OMG!! Wow “Movin On” sounds marvelous. Now this is music!! I am so glad “E” has a lot of say so on his music, the same way he went against the odds and sang what he wanted on American Idol. I am going to be fighting in line for this cd, no doubt. Way to go Elliott and I hope you sing your way to a Grammy.

  14. 14 Ging February 3, 2007 at 11:21 pm

    Love Elliott…Love the New Look…Love what I hear of MOVIN ON, but got to have MORE !!

  15. 15 Osiris Shot Down February 4, 2007 at 1:23 pm

    Hmmm… Mr. Yamin just might end up being the second Idol contestant ever to make a CD that I would actually buy. Along with, y’know, Taylor.

  16. 16 Osiris Shot Down February 4, 2007 at 1:26 pm

    Oh, and he looks HOT – love that last pic (the profile shot with him singing into the microphone). His hair looks nice all grown out and I like the “casual” scruff.

  17. 17 Nancy February 6, 2007 at 9:44 am

    I’ve already ordered his cd from Amazon–can’t wait. Movin On has definitely wet my appetite for more. It’s been a long dry spell, but worth the wait. This is the first time I’ve purchased a cd by a former AI contestant. In fact, Elliott is the only AI contestant for whom I’ve ever voted.

  18. 18 outofmymind February 10, 2007 at 10:08 pm

    Moving On is a fantastic song. I heard it on Aol music in their exclusive broadcast and i couldn’t believe my ears. Truly original sound, different even for the genre. The other song snippets sound great as well, i preordered the album already from Amazon.

  19. 19 Taratova February 25, 2007 at 4:00 pm

    Elliott has such versatility that I know he will have a great range of style on his CD.

    Elliott’s voice is what I want to hear. I know it will be great. I love every song Elliott ever sung so far.

    I have his AI songs on CD and also his songs from his Richmond concert which are bone chilling masterclass Whoa Nellie vocals!!


Comments are currently closed.



February 2007
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "