Archive for February 16th, 2007

Widgets.

Check out the updates to the sidebar widgets, including:

-An Amazon link to pre-order Elliott Yamin’s CD;
-A link to Idol’s Top 24 questionnaires;
-Permalinks to both Taylor Hicks’ and Katharine McPhee’s AOL Sessions.

Kat’s are new, and as always, she is a contradiction in terms — a grown woman, possessive of very adult bombshell looks, she prances about the stage like an eight-year-old singing into a hairbrush. For a girl who exudes such natural beauty, she still doesn’t seem quite content with herself; thus, every smile, every toss of the hair, every hip wiggle is planned and deliberate, a mere approximation of what she thinks is supposed to be sexy. I may not like her, but damn, she doesn’t need to work this hard. This may be part of the reason she’s so popular with teenagers, who don’t fully understand themselves what sex appeal is all about. But anyway. If you like Katharine, you’re gonna love these. (I’m just assuming, of course, as I only got through 30 seconds of the first three videos each.)

Taylor Hicks is a caged animal.

Unlike some other fans of some other Idols, my love for Taylor Hicks isn’t dictated by the number of magazine covers, photo shoots, or thirty-second primetime cameos he scores. But that being said, I’ll admit it’s nice to see the man acknowledged every once and a while. Access Hollywood (which hasn’t yet gotten the memo about Taylor’s failure, heh) has a nice video interview with Taylor posted on their website, complete with snippets of tour rehearsals (in fact, he looks like he’s just come back from Clive’s pre-Grammy party). One comment: Taylor, DO NOT release “Soul Thing” as your next single. Please. Pretty please. With cherries and VFTW shirts on top.

The yin and the yang.

Seems like for everyone who loves Katharine McPhee’s music, there’s someone who hates her, too. I think at this point in time, from what I’ve seen, Taylor Hicks actually got the generally more favorable reviews…though I’d have to go back and check to be really sure. Oh well. You can’t please all the people all the time. And like I always say, no matter what critics or I personally think of her, the important thing is that she’s making music for her fans to enjoy.

From PrideSource.com:

[Katharine] McPhee. McDonalds. What’s the difference? Well, Mickey D’s at least offers a value meal. Meaning, maybe a limp batch of 99-cent fries leaves you disgruntled, but you can always ask for some fresh ones. Or something else. With Katharine McPhee’s debut, though, we…are left with this nagging ripped-off feeling. We can’t pay the “American Idol” runner-up another 99-cents for a new set of songs. Though we would give up our fries for them. The limp ones, of course.

Jillian: Gawd, this music is cotton candy.
Chris: Ha-ha! I feel the same way. Her voice is pretty good on it, but some of the cuts are just overly slinky and syrupy.
Jillian: Her voice is average. I mean for the singers that are out right now she doesn’t stand out at all.
Chris: I remember this all-girl group Dream from years ago, and this album reminds me of them.
Jillian: The third song is a total Xtina rip-off!!!!
Chris: It’s too bubble gummy.
Jillian: This is killing me.
Chris: I bet it’ll blow up on radio – sadly.


February 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "