Archive for January 13th, 2008

Well, you know what they say about intentions and paving, right?

It is my intention, though I make no promises, to at least keep this site partially up-to-date. I may not continue to post regularly, and I probably won’t be offering recaps of individual American Idol episodes anymore. (Actually, I can promise you that I won’t be recapping individual episodes, though I won’t rule out commenting on performances.) Anyway, I’ll be making some other changes to this site, including the following:

Deleting fansite links from the main page. That doesn’t mean that fans of a particular Idol aren’t welcome (and we all know I have my own preferences), but I’m not going to be actively promoting fansites anymore. My reasoning for this has less to do with my own preferences and more to do with the crazy fansite wars I’ve seen unfolding over the last few months.
Deleting album links. There are just too many Idol records to keep up with. However, I may use that space to showcase non-Idol albums that I feel are worth checking out.
Updating the Reviews section. Yeah, I’ve needed to get on that for a while, I know…
Updating “What the kids are sayin'”. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with this section yet, so stay tuned.

Also, check the sidebar periodically for other cool news and blog articles regarding American Idol. This isn’t the place where you’ll find daily links to online articles (although if that’s what you’re looking for, I highly encourage you to check out MJ’s Big Blog), but rather larger pieces that I feel are interesting and relevant to the larger discussion of Idol.


January 2008
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "