On the horizon.

Not too many spoilers floating around out there, and much of what I’ve found is just speculation and conjecture at this point, so I wouldn’t exactly attach a lot of reliablity to them. But here’s what I’ve got so far:

Sundance Head: May be singing “Mustang Sally.” Eep. In my opinion, this is waaaay too gimmicky of a song for him, and he needs to return to the type of languid, bluesy songs that he navigated so well during his audition. On the other hand, you know VFTW is loving this.

Chris Sligh: “Trouble” by Ray LaMontagne. Heh. I still haven’t warmed up to Sligh and his strategery, but if this is true, then in the chess game that is American Idol, this is one baaad move. Taylor Hicks kicked ass on this song last year — even Simon Cowell called it an “excellent vocal” (before, of course, proceeding to dis Taylor’s strange leather jacket. I, personally, found the leather jacket strangely hot, if perhaps a size too small…). Even attempting to do this song is going to cause rumblings among Taylor’s fanbase, which I kind of thought Sligh was trying to court, what with his anti-Idol image and all. If he falls short of Taylor’s excellent version, he falls short. Or, God forbid, he’s better than Taylor, or different enough to render any comparisons moot, or the judges don’t care and just decide to use this as an excuse to rag on Taylor some more, he runs the risk of really alienating Taylor’s fans, which could spell trouble for him. After all, he didn’t do so hot on DialIdol last week.

8 Responses to “On the horizon.”


  1. 1 OsirisShotDown February 27, 2007 at 2:22 pm

    At the very least, here’s hoping the guys suck a whole lot less than they did last week. Because last week was shit.

    On a slightly different topic, but still about this season’s boys, I watched a YouTube video of one of your favorite guys, Blake. Dammit. I actually liked it. It’s kinda funky with some bluesy elements and some almost reggae elements… but it was a lot of fun. I’d totally listen to more of that. So, yeah. Blake’s kinda growing on me… as long as he pretty much stays away from the hip-hoppity/clubby stuff… Things could be worse. I could start diggin’ on Chris R. Yeah, right. BWAAAAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHA!

  2. 2 MaryS-NJ February 27, 2007 at 5:06 pm

    There’s some spoilage posted at MJ’s in the Daily Thread posted by Preston…

    Rumors for tonight:

    -Guys are on the whole much better this week
    -Phil goes first
    -Sundance gets the pimp spot with “Mustang Sally”
    -Blake beatboxes in his performance

    This was picked up at VFTW as well along with another – that Sanjaya bombed.

  3. 3 MaryS-NJ February 27, 2007 at 5:16 pm

    Off topic, idolicious, I know you post over at TWoP. Do you have any idea why the Taylor thread has been closed? It seems to have happened today, and it seems to be the only “old product” thread that was closed. I know the mods there hate Taylor – but WTF?

  4. 4 Osiris Shot Down February 27, 2007 at 6:46 pm

    Elliot’s thread is locked, too. Not sure what in the world is up with either one of those – I didn’t see anything recent that was questionable and none of the mods said anything about locking it for bad behaviour. I kinda wonder if it’s a glitch related to the work they’ve been doing on the boards lately – the boards have been very spotty the last several days.

  5. 5 MaryS-NJ February 27, 2007 at 7:44 pm

    Osiris, Maybe that’s it. Usually the Mods will post an admonishment if the posts go astray which is why it was so strange. Thanks for checking.

  6. 6 Sunny February 27, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    You were right, as usual ‘licious regarding Sligh taking on “Trouble”. Man from what I saw and heard this could seal his fate. Not in a good way. He is not Taylor Hicks. Taylor owned that song last year and still does.

    Regarding Sundance, he was worth saving. VFTW is not all about evil, sweet gal, some, or most miss the point of the whole angst issue against Idol. I like to refer to them as ‘dark angels’. He delivered the goods tonight, although best performance graded as a performance only, not to taste, is Chris Richardson. He made Blake look like an imitation. Sort of a strange switcheroo. Yep, that boy out Timberlaked my expectations.

    Choir boy Sanjaya went Michael Jackson as is his type. I hope we can save him for another week; he’s improving and has potential. Plus the judges don’t like him much…

  7. 7 idolicious February 27, 2007 at 11:30 pm

    Oh, believe me, I get VFTW. I’m a member. :-)


  1. 1 Sundance Head » Sundance Head February 27, 2007 1:12 pm Trackback on February 27, 2007 at 1:16 pm
Comments are currently closed.



February 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "

