Milk and cookies.

A concert review from the Jacksonville Times-Union:

[Taylor] Hicks is known as a blue-eye soul singer. He’s unashamed of his love for the music. It is this genuine quality that makes his performance endearing and entertaining. Without a major hit to speak of, Hicks enthralled the crowd as if this was his 1,000th major solo performance, not his first. Dressed in blue jeans, a black sport coat and an untucked, collared shirt, Hicks was totally at ease. He was a performer, not some contest winner. On this night these people invested more than a couple phone calls to vote for Hicks. This time they spent real money to buy tickets. He answered the call….On stage, Hicks is in constant motion. At times he dances like the awkward guy at the party who doesn’t know his moves are lame. Then he becomes overcome with the grinding and spastic gyrations of a young Joe Cocker only to become possessed like a tent preacher full of the holy spirit. Dancing like this could easily be mocked, but they work for Hicks because he is all about the music.

Interestingly, the reviewer says that the crowd was rather unresponsive to “Just to Feel That Way.” Apparently, though, the buzz is that the single might be marketed to country radio. Hmm…interesting.

3 Responses to “Milk and cookies.”


  1. 1 MaryS-NJ February 22, 2007 at 10:36 am

    Jordin Sparks sings that “Gimme just one good reason” song by Tracey Chapman, and it’s…yeah, it’s good, but it’s bot-like, as most teenagers on this show are wont to be.

    At the risk of sounding dorky: WORD.

    Jordin has a very nice voice for a girl of 17 but her smiling at inappropriate times annoyed me and, yes, she is botlike. She’s less botlike than Lisa was last year, but I’m not feeling it.

    Lakisha has a gorgeous, but churchy voice, and I suspect she will not be as versatile going into the theme weeks. I agree that J-Hud did it better.

    Melinda on the other hand, has a go-with-the-flow spontaneity that is a bit Taylor-like. Melinda is my girl!

    I think Leslie is safe, and agree that she has a better voice than really was showcased this week with that song choice. I’m not feeling Gina either, but she’s at least a little different.

    The rest of them – especially my homegirl Toni the Tart – could go home anytime as far as I’m concerned.

  2. 2 Mike Rose February 22, 2007 at 11:51 am

    I second the Leslie Love….I loved her quirky version of Natural Woman. I also dug the hip boots…hey now!!!!

    If anyone doesn’t think this is a shootout between Melinda and Lakisha, then they are jaded. I just want to see Leslie for another week.

  3. 3 Bonnie February 24, 2007 at 1:17 pm

    I just say Taylor last night at Coral Sping’s Center for the Arts and he exceeded my expectations. His show was tight, (for only the 3rd show with this band) and orchestrated flawlessly. His vocals were on the mark and I felt I was watching a brilliant performer in the making..

    I can’t express my feelings strong enough, that to truly appreciate Taylors talent, you MUST see him perform live..

    Thank you Taylor, I can’t wait to watch your career and your life unfold.

    Bonnie


Comments are currently closed.



February 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "

