Taylor Hicks is a caged animal.

Unlike some other fans of some other Idols, my love for Taylor Hicks isn’t dictated by the number of magazine covers, photo shoots, or thirty-second primetime cameos he scores. But that being said, I’ll admit it’s nice to see the man acknowledged every once and a while. Access Hollywood (which hasn’t yet gotten the memo about Taylor’s failure, heh) has a nice video interview with Taylor posted on their website, complete with snippets of tour rehearsals (in fact, he looks like he’s just come back from Clive’s pre-Grammy party). One comment: Taylor, DO NOT release “Soul Thing” as your next single. Please. Pretty please. With cherries and VFTW shirts on top.

5 Responses to “Taylor Hicks is a caged animal.”


  1. 1 GRITS February 16, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    Just wondering why you don’t want Taylor to release Soul Thing as the next single.

    Actually, my choice would be “The Right Place”. I totally believe if that were released as a single, sales and interest would soar!

    But to quote Simon…what do I know? LOL

  2. 2 idolicious February 16, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    My choice would be “The Right Place” as well.

    I just flat-out don’t like “Soul Thing.” I think it’s hokey, lame, and uninspired. And, quite frankly, the only thing “soul” about it is that it has the word “soul” in the title. There are far better songs on the album (and in Taylor’s repertoire). I know he kind of considers it an “unofficial anthem,” but…gaaah. No. Please no. I spend waaaaay too much time defending his talent and pushing his other original music on people anyway.

  3. 3 MaryS-NJ February 16, 2007 at 4:15 pm

    My Daughter (who is 11) loves “Soul Thing”, but she’s partial to the UTR version. It’s a fun, boppy song, but not his best work by far. Maybe that would be it’s appeal.

    I’ve always liked “The Deal” and like the version, and “HOAD” – UTR version. I don’t think either one would fit on Top 40.

    I love TRP but it’s not right for top 40 or AC. I could hear it on AAA radio, however.

    In my humble opinion…

  4. 4 idolicious February 16, 2007 at 4:22 pm

    I think TRP could work on AC. Hell, they play Josh Groban, why not a gospel-lite number by Taylor?

    The problem I have with songs like “Soul Thing” and “The Deal” (which I do love very much, don’t get me wrong) is that they are built around cliches. And I just don’t see them working on the radio. It’s strange, but I actually feel that Taylor’s best writing took place on IYT, and that he backslid a bit on most of the songs on UTR (with the exception of HOAD). UTR’s a fun album, don’t get me wrong, but it’s not exactly proof of Taylor being a genius. IYT is closer to that. And I understand that we’re limited to the songs on TH in choosing a new single, but…I just don’t get the sense that these two songs are right for radio.

  5. 5 MaryS-NJ February 17, 2007 at 9:02 am

    I love the stuff on IYT (sans “On Broadway” which is I can’t listen to) and would love to hear updated versions of his originals. I will say however that The Fall is a bit drone-y for me. That’s probably blasphemy, but I follow along and expect it to go somewhere it doesn’t. It’s beautiful for what it is, but I think it needs a rearangement.

    As for Soul Thing, it’s a little bit of a “novelty” song and there are novelty songs that do very well on radio – especially Country and Pop. Soul Thing is a masterpiece compared to some of those.

    But, I hear ya. I personally want the next single to be Heaven Knows, and would love to hear The Right Place on AAA.


Comments are currently closed.



February 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "

