Pavlov’s pop star.

Says Katharine McPhee of her debut single, “Over It”:

It’s a good little breakup song..It’s one of those songs where after hearing it you will never ever again be able to say, ‘I’m so over this right now’ or ‘I’m over him’ without breaking into song. It’s one of those infectious songs that I just have absolutely grown to love and want to listen to all the time. Well … I don’t know about all the time, but it just is always in my head and I think it’s a perfect single to introduce to people what I’m doing with my music. [emphasis added]

Katharine doesn’t need her music to be good. She just needs it to be an involuntary reflex for the masses, like jerking your leg and cursing when the doctor taps your knee, or perhaps like yanking your hand away and howling in pain after touching a hot stove. Either analogy works when you think about it, really.

Anywhoo. From Star-Telegram.com:

Over It is a slickly-produced pop track with a kick-him-to-the-curb message that will have teenage girls, never to be underestimated in their power to make beautiful girls famous, swooning. McPhee’s voice sounds beautiful, and she nails every note. But, and I’m not surprised I’m saying this, her incredible voice talent cannot hide the fact that she might indeed just be a shimmer-cheeked singing robot. She’s a bit … generic. Technically great, but boring. For a track that’s all about the heartbreak that is moving on, there’s very little actual feeling in the song…McPhee sounds more awkward with every song. She’s so horrible at her attempt to be ghetto that it’s almost adorable. Like when your super well-behaved friends goes “wild” and orders a strawberry daqueri.

January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "

