Spilled milk.

“Some of you out there are buying Chris Daughtry albums, and you need to stop it.” —QuickDFW.com

FMBQ Radio interviewed Chris Daughtry, who provided this hilarious nugget for your snark amusement:

I wrote the whole album in a couple of weeks. When I was on the [American Idols Live] tour this past summer, every day off I was in the hotel room writing…If we were in Fort Lauderdale, everyone else would be at the beach, on boats, enjoying life, and I’d be in a hotel room with Brent Smith from Shinedown, writing until 4 in the morning. I knew that it had to be done, and so my work ethic just kicked in. It’s not all fun and games — there’s actual work involved and lots of sacrifice — but it definitely was worth it. Because now I can buy that beach.

Oy. They really make it easy, don’t they?

AOL interviewed Taylor Hicks, who says that he doesn’t think he’ll “ever hear the end of it” from Simon. No…probably not. He also describes his recent success as “cool” and talks about collaborating with local talent on tour.

And finally, a fairly even-handed review of Katharine’s album from The Associated Press. Strangely, SFGate, which usually issues its own reviews, is carrying it. I guess it was the only way they could stop Aidin Vaziri from writing a gushing, fawning “omg kat iz so hawt!!!11one!” piece:

Her producers and handlers meticulously calculated everything on this disc to appeal to the widest possible range of listeners and broadcast formats, from hip-hop to pop to R&B to adult contemporary (I kept waiting for heavy metal and polka tracks to surface, just to cover every possible combination). Sometimes it works, like on the opening track, “Love Story”…And sometimes it doesn’t, like on “Open Toes,” a hip-hop ode to shoe shopping where she sounds quite out of her element. “Do What You Do” has somewhat more street credibility, fitting in easily on urban stations or BET. But it’s on the power ballads “Home” and “Ordinary World” that McPhee shows she really can sing, with a voice that is at once sultry and breathy in the lower registers, and strong when it needs to be in the higher ranges. These two tracks, destined for dentist offices and supermarkets around the world, will remind listeners why they voted for her in the first place.

Interesting that the general consensus so far seems to be that Kat needs to go back to ballads…

6 Responses to “Spilled milk.”


  1. 1 Em January 29, 2007 at 11:15 pm

    I actually heard a Daughtry song on local rock radio recently, and as a rock enthusiast let me just say that I was bored. I was underwhelmed. I know you aren’t a big fan of Nickelback (not your thing, nothing personal, I totally respect that) but at least their songs are catchy. I don’t run out and purchase Nickelback, but somehow I seem to know the words and tap my toes when they come on the radio. And I just bet, if you played the song in your average bar, most people would at least know the chorus. Now, of course there is the argument that many rockers make that they don’t want to be mainstream, but we all know that Clive the Dementor is not going that way. It is record sales or nothing. And believe me Nickelback sells records by the truckload.
    On another note, several beagle puppies are saddened by the fact that Brent from Shinedown helped Chris write his album because I actually like that band (as in purchase the CDs), and it would be a crying shame if a good idea was wasted on him that could have gone to them. Just a personal opinion there.

  2. 2 OsirisShotDown January 30, 2007 at 10:02 am

    “Because now I can buy that beach”

    BWAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

    Ego much? JAY-zus.

    I love how he’s all “I’m the only hardworker amongst those jackasses… everyone was fucking around while I was busting my ass and now I’m a HUH-YOOGE success… Go, MEEE!”

    Tool.

  3. 3 Sarah January 30, 2007 at 6:44 pm

    Newsflash: he IS a success. And he WAS busting his ass. Oh, and as a result of that, he IS a success! Wow, what a concept!

    And logic tells me that the beach comment = JOKE! Gawd, grasping for straws, are we?

  4. 4 idolicious January 30, 2007 at 7:21 pm

    Did I say he wasn’t a success? I don’t think I did.

    Successful as he may be and joke as he might, he’s good snark material. Seems like a good guy, though, which is why I don’t rag on him too much.

  5. 5 BooYah February 5, 2007 at 2:25 am

    They don’t call him PWE for nothing.

  6. 6 Sabrina February 6, 2007 at 2:38 am

    I think Chris is completely full of himself, he was on the show and he still is!


Comments are currently closed.



January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "

