The morning after, pt. 1.

So that was…it? I never though I’d say this about an American Idol episode, but that was just…boring. None of the singers put through were phenomenal, and only two in my eyes (Sarah Krueger and the crack baby girl) have any real shot of getting anywhere remotely near the Top 24.* The rest of them? It’s as if they put through middling singers simply for cannon fodder, to get good footage out of the Hollywood rounds when average singers start to crack under the pressure. Now, yes, I know that more people were put through than were shown, and I know that some of last year’s best singers didn’t even show up on our TV screens until the Hollywood rounds (like the woefully underpimped Elliott Yamin, for example). And as Elliott has shown us, America is sometimes willing to overlook a lack of airtime and recognize a true talent. So I’m not freaking out yet.

But at the same time, I know how this show works now. I know that there are three rounds of auditions — first for lowly, cockroach-like producers, then for the executive producers, and then for the judges. The first round is done in groups of four or five, and if you don’t make it, you’re out. And rumor has it that first-round producers have quotas to meet — one has a quota for pretty white girls, another for rockers, etc. Sigh. I have no problem with the fact that Idol is a reality TV show, and it needs compelling characters as much as it needs good singers. But you can certainly find plently of amazing vocalists with marketable sob stories in this country. The show’s just lazy.

*This is assuming, of course, that talent is the determining factor here. Which, as we all know, it isn’t.

1 Response to “The morning after, pt. 1.”



  1. 1 American Idol Thought Spot" Trackback on January 17, 2007 at 3:28 pm
Comments are currently closed.



January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "

