Ten (or more) songs you need to download now.

I couldn’t pick just ten. So sue me.

John Legend, “Again”
Ray Charles, “Black Coffee”
MOFRO, “Blackwater”
Johnny Cash, “Bridge Over Troubled Water”
Madeleine Peyroux, “Careless Love”
Otis Redding, “Change is Gonna Come” (yes, the Otis version)
Debussy, “Claire de Lune”
Ray Charles & Count Basie, “Come Live With Me”
Neil Diamond, “Delirious Love”
Nina Simone, “Do I Move You?”
Ray Lamontagne, “Forever My Friend”
Ray Lamontagne, “Empty”
Taylor Hicks, “Georgia”
Joss Stone, “God Only Knows”
Taylor Hicks, “Hell of a Day” (Under the Radar version)
Joe Bonamassa, “High Water Everythere”
Marc Broussard, “Home”
Chris Whitley, “I Forget You Every Day”
Johnny Cash, “If You Could Read My Mind”
Taylor Hicks, “In Your Time” (In Your Time version)
Nina Simone, “Lilac Wine”
Neil Diamond, “Oh Mary”
Johnny Cash, “Personal Jesus”
Aretha Franklin, “Rock Steady”
Joss Stone, “Some Kind of Wonderful”
Nina Simone, “Since I Fell For You”
Taylor Hicks, “Somehow”
Li’l Son Jackson, “Sugar Mama”
Taylor Hicks, “The Right Place”
Joss Stone, “The Right Time”
Aretha Franklin, “Today I Sing the Blues”

Oh, and, uh…

Tom Jones, “It’s Not Unusual” (well, you know you have your guilty pleasures…)

6 Responses to “Ten (or more) songs you need to download now.”


  1. 1 SunnyLovesSoul January 15, 2007 at 9:07 am

    What no John Mayer? “Bigger Than My Body” from “Heavier Things” gotta have that one in the iPod.

  2. 2 idolicious January 15, 2007 at 9:40 am

    Actually, that’s very cool. Maybe this post can be a chain–people adding their own musts for downloading. Personally, I’ve never gotten very much into John Mayer–not because I don’t like him, just because I’ve never gotten around to it. But now I’ll try to make some time for it!

  3. 3 Em January 15, 2007 at 3:27 pm

    I think you should download more Neil Diamond, TODAY!

  4. 4 idolicious January 15, 2007 at 5:53 pm

    Dude, Em, did you not see that I spotlighted (spotlit?) his entire last album? Go read it…TODAY!

  5. 5 MaryS-NJ January 15, 2007 at 7:04 pm

    Wow, some really awesome selections! I’m loving MOFRO, by the way, and really appreciate the rec.

    What do you think of Johnny Cash’s version of “Hurt”? When I first heard I could feel all his pain and regret, if you know what I mean. Very evocative.

  6. 6 Lionel January 17, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    some really good suggestions!

    love the classics.

    Johnny Cash’s “Personal Jesus” is great.

    and I love Neil Diamond’s “Delirious Love” (anyone see the video of Neil and Brian Wilson singing it together.
    http://youtube.com/watch?v=5V-P5udAAh8 .Really good stuff)


Comments are currently closed.



January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "

