Slightly more substantive than an “Ugly Betty” appearance.

As Taylor fans wait eagerly* for an official release date for “Just To Feel That Way,” Taylor himself seems pretty content. He told the Daily Mountain Eagle Online (I know…who?) that he’s excited about his CD’s sales so far, and attributes the quick push to gold to his live performances on television talk shows and at the Orange Bowl. Taylor also got a chance to sit down and talk with Gladys Knight about her music. Pretty cool.

And while Rolling Stone never got around to reviewing Taylor Hicks, they did ask him for a list of his favorite songs. Included: King Curtis’ “Memphis Soul Stew,” Anita Baker’s “Givin’ You The Best That I Got,” Astrud Gilberto’s “The Girl from Ipanema,” John Lennon’s “Imagine” (ugh) and Ray LaMontagne’s “Jolene.”

Taylor Hicks has also been added to Pandora’s playlist, and consequentially, the “sounds like” section has been updated. Taylor is now compared to Ian Moore, Mike Scott, Fountains of Wayne, Tommy James, Elvis Costello and Alvin Toussaint. That’s no mix to sniff at.

Taylor Hicks also shows up on another list–AllMusic.com’s Editor’s Choice list for best new releases from the past three months (October through December 2006). Also making the list are Fantasia, Neil Diamond (for his “deluxe” re-release of 12 Songs), Ella Fitzgerald, and our old friend Young Jeezy.

*As for me, my feelings are mixed. I want Taylor’s songs to be on the radio for the exposure–there’s lots of anecdotal evidence that most people don’t even have a clue that the boy’s CD is out. But God forbid the song becomes a hit, sales skyrocket, and the next thing Taylor knows, he’s recording an album of bad 80s love song covers?

3 Responses to “Slightly more substantive than an “Ugly Betty” appearance.”


  1. 1 talktocarllewis January 12, 2007 at 4:15 pm

    Taylor’s exposure is nowhere near as substantive as Katharine’s appearance on “Ugly Betty.” “Betty” is on one the newest top rated shows and is currently the lead-in for primetime’s number one show–”Grey’s Anatomy” Approximately 13 million viewers will see Katharine on “Betty.”

    I’m sorry that Taylor is being virtually ignored by radio and the media. He really does have potential. Just please stop taking out your disappointment in Taylor’s success on Katharine. Your bias is manifestly obvious. :)

  2. 2 idolicious January 12, 2007 at 4:20 pm

    1) Taylor is hardly being ignored. McPhee’s album is being dropped soon; it’s her time to shine. I’m happy for her promotion and I expect her album to sell quite well (although I do predict a bit of a sluggish start, this being January and all.) He got his time in the sun; now it’s her turn. Once his tour gets underway I expect a bit more to be written about him.

    2) Taylor wants to be a musician; that’s why he’s most often seen with musicians, singing songs, and playing musical instruments. Katharine is a personality; that’s why she’s most often seen in photo shoots. Yes, I know she’s made some appearances trotting out her Over the Rainbow, and no doubt she’ll be performing “Over It” live in the next coming weeks, but I don’t believe she has a special love for music. That’s what I mean by “substantive.”

    3) Doesn’t take a crack journalist to expose my “bias.” I believe I’m quite clear about my general dislike for McPhee. Plus it’s my website and I’ll do what I want.

    4) I truly am sorry that you have such a limited definition of “success”–one that is apparently constrained by album sales and mass media appearances. Taylor is jamming with amazing musicians, embarking on a national tour, and getting love from respected musical publications. I doubt he’s sitting in a corner whimpering that his songs aren’t being played on Top 40 radio. Katharine will have many radio hits off her album, I’m sure. Taylor’s just not a Top 40 artist, no matter what RCA believes they can fool the public into thinking. One does not need to be a constant radio presence, fixture on the red carpet, or repeatedly grace magazine covers to be considered a success.

  3. 3 PayTheDevil January 13, 2007 at 12:59 am

    Ship to ship.” — Kirk

    “Hailing frequencies open.” — Uhura

    “This is the Captain of the Enterprise. Our respect for other lifeforms requires that we give you this…warning. There is one critical item of information that has never been incorporated into the memory banks of any Earth ship. Since the early years of space exploration, Earth vessels have had incorporated into them, a substance known as…Corbomite. It is a material and a device which prevents…attack…on us. If any destructive energy touches our vessel, a reverse reaction of equal strength is created, destroying…” — Kirk,

    The Corbomite Maneuver, Ep 3/1512.2

    J. Tiberius Kirk is a strategic thinker and glib oralist. I could never hope to be as eloquent; I would simply say “The Bubble Bee in hooker boots has a fantastic voice, but the mental stability of a three-legged stool with a fat man on top.” It takes the entire package baby. I hope the best for all of the Idols. It would be terrific if Chris, Kellie, Kevin, Katherine, and Taylor sell enough records to keep them stocked up on unfrosted Pop Tarts for the rest of their natural lives.


Comments are currently closed.



January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "

