Ahh, this must explain Fergie.

I’ve got some traveling to do today, so I leave you with a brief article bemoaning the rise of crappy music in today’s society. The writer is not a Nickelback fan, so presumably, if Daughtry winds up at the top of next year’s list, he won’t be impressed.

There are some surprises on the list of top-selling artists for 2006, though. Not all hope is lost. Here’s the list, and my own judgment of whether the music is good or crappy:

1. Rascal Flatts (Crappy. Country music dumbed down for mass consumption).
2. Johnny Cash (Good. Cash was a genius. He also, interestingly enough, didn’t believe that country music was going “too pop.” But I still don’t think he would have liked Rascal Flatts.)
3. Nickelback (Crappy…despite the fact that I do practice harmony to the chorus of “Photograph.” What? It’s perfect for practicing your thirds!)
4. Carrie Underwood (Undecided. I haven’t heard enough of her stuff.)
5. The Beatles (Objectively good, although I was never much of a fan.)
6. Tim McGraw (Hmm….)
7. Andrea Bocelli (Right now, crappy. I really liked him when he first came out, but then he went the David Foster route and it all went to hell.)
8. Mary J. Blige (Alternately good and crappy. And she gave us the word “hateration,” which is cool.)
9. Keith Urban (Actually never heard Mr. Kidman’s stuff.)
10. Justin Timberlake (CRA-PPY. Crappy crappy crappy. Overrated as hell. And obnoxius. And punchable. Which means he’ll probably go home with at least four Grammys.)

Also, High School Musical was the top-selling album, followed by Me and My Gang by Rascal Flatts (seriously, that sounds like a Sesame Street episode), Carrie Underwood’s Some Hearts, Nickelback’s All the Right Reasons, Timberlake’s FutureSex/LoveSounds (one day he’ll fade into obscurity…I just know it), James Blunt’s Back to Bedlam (Reeeeally? I thought his single did well but his album tanked. Or maybe that was Daniel Powter), Beyonce’s B-Day (good luck going up against that, Kat), the Hannah Montana soundtrack, The Dixie Chick’s Taking the Long Way (yeah, I know they got death threats and all, and Bush hasn’t been on my list of favorite people for a while now, and Adrian Pasdar’s pretty hot, but will they shut up now?), and finally, Hinder’s Extreme Behavior. I had never heard of Hinder before reviewers started calling DAUGHTRY a Nickelback/Hinder rip-off, so I doubt I’m missing much.

Thoughts? Chris is well on his way to making next year’s list; does that say more about his individual talent, or (given this years’ list) the popularity of his genre of music? And what of McPhee? Will she replace Beyonce next year, or is she more of a Cassie, with a hot single, a video in heavy rotation, but only 270K in sales under her belt? Will we ever see Taylor on this list? Do we care? Does it matter?

January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "

