Oh, that’s the game where they wear the helmets and toss around a ball, right?

Taylor Hicks performed “The Runaround” (okay, guys, time to bust out a new song here) at last night’s Orange Bowl, then accompanied Gladys Night’s rendition of “Heard It Through the Grapevine” on his harmonica. Taylor seemed like he was really pushing his vocals (always a sign that he’s getting bored with a song), and I think he might have sounded good. I don’t know, seeing as how it was apparently too much trouble for the sound guys to plug the cable in. Seriously, what gives with live sound these days? McPhee had the same issues at her parade. Anyway, a video of somewhat shitty quality is at the bottom of the post.

And speaking of video, I’m being told that I must check out DAUGHTRY’s cover of “Sunday Bloody Sunday.” I haven’t yet, so why don’t you do it for me, and then tell me if it’s worth it?

And finally, how did I miss this? Here’s Katharine McPhee’s official track listing, presented without my snark:

1. Love Story
2. Over It
3. Open Toes
4. Home
5. Not Ur Girl
6. Each Other
7. Dangerous
8. Ordinary World
9. Do What You Do
10. Better Off Alone
11. Neglected
12. Everywhere I Go

2 Responses to “Oh, that’s the game where they wear the helmets and toss around a ball, right?”


  1. 1 OsirisShotDown January 3, 2007 at 9:49 am

    Yeah, the audio was awful, but he definitely looked like he was having a good time, and what I *could* hear sounded good. And the harp sounded awesome, as usual.

    RE: DAUGHTRY!’s cover of SBS… it’s a’ight, to quote RJ. I love how, as Chris is saying it’s one of his favorite U2 songs, he sounds scripted and bored as hell (incidentally, it IS *my* favorite U2 song, but admittedly, I’m not a huge fan – sacrilege!). I also love how all 3 of his guitar players are moving pretty much in unison – I wonder if that was intentional (HEE)? I came away from that video thinking I’d much rather listen to (and watch!) Joey the drummer than Chris the 4th-place-AI-finisher and lead singer.

  2. 2 PennyW January 3, 2007 at 11:15 am

    I was underwhelmed with the Orange Bowl performance. I was really expecting so much more. Ah well, there is those 2 live shows I’m set to go see in the coming months!

    Re: Daughtry…yes, the drummer is much more entertaining to watch (did he dye his hair dark for the NYE show?). I don’t care for U2 so I wouldn’t care for this song.


Comments are currently closed.



January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "

