Counting down to the New Year…

Well, the good news is that Taylor Hicks has sold over 500,000 copies in two weeks, meaning that the album has gone gold. The bad news is that he took a bit of a sales tumble–selling approximately 202,000 in the second week, and dropping 38% to number 15 on the Billboard charts (although he did take last week’s number one Young Jeezy with him).

Okay, so, Taylor Hicks went gold in two weeks. Pretty impressive for any album, but apparently not impressive for an Idol. One could compare it to Chris Daughtry’s numbers, which have dropped steadily every week while still retaining impressive legs, and no one’s calling that album a flop. But at the same time, Daughtry’s sales numbers increased the week before Christmas, while Taylor’s didn’t.

I post sales updates in the interest of full disclosure, but I do want this disclaimer known–I think Taylor Hicks is a tremendously talented artist, and I’ll be listening to his music for years to come. All I care about, frankly, is that he’s making that music. I’d love to see him be number one on the charts, but it ain’t gonna happen–those spots are generally reserved for either very mainstream artists, rap acts or long-since-established artists, and Taylor obviously doesn’t fit into any of those three categories. And even if he did, well, the fact that he’s not popular with other people doesn’t make him any less popular with me, and I suspect that many of his fans and admirers feel the same way.

Oh, and one addendum–it looks like Katharine McPhee’s new album will, in fact, be self-titled. This is likely a good move, since let’s face it, Never Saw it Comin’ just had way too much snark potential.

December 2006
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "

