Here, there, everywhere…

It will literally be a parade of Idols for the coming New Year. First up is rawker Chris Daughtry, who you can catch with his band DAUGHTRY on this year’s New Years’ Eve special (that’s the FOX ripoff, not the ABC Dick Clark/Ryan Seacrest shindig).

The next day (if you’re not still sleeping off your hangover, that is), you can catch Katharine McPhee striking yet another contrived kissy pose…err, I mean, singing in SoCal’s annual Tournament of Roses Bowl & Parade. (See her kiss the giant frog here, because I’m too lazy to edit the photos.) Katharine will actually be making a first there; she’ll be singing completely live, instead of lip-synching, which is the norm for most parades. Additionally, Kat will be singing a song called “Better Off Alone” from her upcoming album. Although this won’t be her first official single, she describes it as “soulful” (heh).

I sure hope this is the right insignia.And if you’re still craving tasty Idol leftovers come February (or if season 6 hasn’t already made you go “uhh….Kat who and Taylor whaa?”), you can catch Taylor Hicks at not one, but two Mardi Gras events. Taylor will be the Grand Marshal at the Krewe of Endymion’s Mardi Gras parade. Other entertainment will include Styx, Journey (think Randy Jackson will play bass?)and Al Green. Later, on February 24, Taylor will be playing Universal Studios Orlando’s Mardi Gras party. I’m actually going to attempt to catch this one by convincing a few rabidly anti-Idol friends (the only kind I’ve got, really) that by the time they’ve sucked down six beers, it won’t matter who’s playing. Heh.

And to wrap it all up, here’s yet another review.

“Unlike most of the “American Idol” pack, Taylor Hicks arrived fully formed. That works to his advantage on his recording debut. The silver-haired soulster doesn’t have to try on 10 different styles. He jumps right into a funky Muscle Shoals pocket and stays there…OK, there are some duds here, for instance the second half of the CD. But it’s a pleasant and accomplished virgin voyage. Of course, Hicks already knew how to sing. Let’s hope he gets some dance lessons.”
David Hiltbrand

3 Responses to “Here, there, everywhere…”


  1. 1 Lori595 December 25, 2006 at 12:31 am

    Don’t forget Taylor will be appearing at The Orange Bowl on January 2nd.

  2. 2 Sarah December 27, 2006 at 3:17 pm

    First of all, I’m glad your site is up since MJ’s is down!

    I think it’s weird that Katharine will be singing a song at that parade that may or may not be her first single. I mean, could her people confuse the buying public MORE?

    I may be going to the Mardi Gras party in Orlando too. Do you have to buy tix in advance, or is your park ticket good for the concert too? I’m definitely going to Tampa though. Already bought my ticket and it should be in the mail soon!

  3. 3 idolicious December 28, 2006 at 11:07 am

    I have no clue about those Mardi Gras tickets…the last time I checked the new site wasn’t up (it was still the 2006 site) so I’m waiting for that…and I’ll buy them then.


Comments are currently closed.



December 2006
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "

