Going viral.

He's in your news feed now....So I signed on to Facebook today (I really need to check that thing more) and what do I see on my news feed? A “sponsored” story announcing the release of Taylor Hicks’ debut, complete with photographs, a direct purchasing link to Amazon, and an option to “share” the story by posting it on my Facebook profile.

Now, by “sponsored,” I’m assuming that Hicks’ people paid the Facebook team a pretty penny for an official news feed story…which is very cool. In fact, here’s what Facebook
has to say
about its advertising opportunities:

“Facebook offers relevant and integrated advertising opportunities to engage the tech-savvy youth audience. We can help you develop the ideal Facebook advertising solution that reaches an active audience of youth trend-setters and influencers.”

Huh. Not bad. Now, I’m part of a little Hicks fan group on Facebook, and I list him as one of my favorite musicians, so I’m not sure if that’s why I got the news story, or if it went out to everybody. Either way, kudos to the Hicks Team for taking advantage of creative marketing.

2 Responses to “Going viral.”


  1. 1 AmyH December 20, 2006 at 7:51 am

    Google Alert! You made it!

    I’m already on MySpace – I don’t need a Facebook, too. :P

  2. 2 idolicious December 20, 2006 at 8:44 am

    Hahah…I’m sporadically available via Google Alert. Sometimes yes, sometimes no. I’m guessing it’s still in Beta.


Comments are currently closed.



December 2006
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "

