[/rolls eyes]

How he does these nonstop interviews, dealing with the same inane questions, I’ll never know. Anyway, please to enjoy Taylor Hicksinterview with TV Squad. The best parts are posted here.

Interviewer: Has it been a long day for you?
Taylor: Try a long year.
Interviewer: Really… just a lot of publicity?
Taylor: You know… publicity is good… I’ll take it any day of the week.
Interviewer: I hear you, but do you get tired of it? Are you tired of all these interviews? You know, having to make nice all the time?
Taylor: Um, yeah. I mean, a little bit, you know… Just some of the questions, you know… some of the questions… just stay the same.

Ahh, so what better way to respond to Taylor’s proclamation that he’s tired of having to answer the same old questions…than by asking him the same old questions?

Interviewer: Let me ask you this, this’ll be my first question to you: What’s the dumbest question that you’ve heard again and again and again? What’s the question that you don’t want to hear anymore?
Taylor : That’s a question that I like to hear. The question that I’m tired of hearing is “What was going through your mind when you won?”
Interviewer: Well then I’ll have to cross that one off my list!
(no laughter, slight pause)

But then, something interesting:

Interviewer: I read that you’re a big Billy Joel fan. What’s your favorite obscure Billy Joel Song?
Taylor: Have you ever heard of a song called “Goodnight Saigon”? (Ed. note–I’ll try to link to it later.)
Interviewer: I know “Goodnight Saigon”, off The Nylon Curtain… absolutely.
Taylor: Yeah, I’m gonna say that one.

But then…not so interesting. (The parentheticals are the authors’, not mine.)

Interviewer: …Here’s the big question, I’m sure you’ve been getting a lot of this… you gonna watch [American Idol] this year?
Taylor: (somewhat annoyed) Of course I’m gonna watch this year… why would I not watch this year?
Interviewer: I’ve seen some interviews where it implied that you wouldn’t be watching this year.
Taylor : I’m watching.

Poor Taylor. “Sorry, baby, I can’t meet you tonight. No, I’ve gotta watch American Idol…yeah, yeah, I promised all these idiot bloggers who call themselves journalists* that I’d watch it. Aww…don’t tell me you’re wearing the lacy thong…”

* Much like myself, in fact.

Interviewer: Okay. Here’s a question for you as this is for TV Squad, so it’s TV oriented. If you talk to the producers about changing something on American Idol, what would you change?
Taylor: I would like more time with the songs towards the end…More time for the artists to sing more of the song. (Ed. note–that WOULD be nice. And no more Flames of Pimpage!)

Interviewer: …Of all the people that you worked with, who do you think could handle a rough and tumble biker bar? Other than you, obviously, who could tame a wild crowd?
Taylor: (long pause) Bucky Covington.

Aww, Bucky! I love Bucky. He went way before his time. Oh, this upcoming part is pretty cool:

Interviewer: Alright, so a couple of questions about the new album. How much control did you have on the new album?
Taylor: First of all, I got to choose what songs I wanted to sing.
Interviewer: That’s nice.
Taylor: I made sure I didn’t sing any songs on it that I didn’t want to sing.
Interviewer: Like… “Do I Make You Proud?”
Taylor: Uhhhhhhhhhh…

Oh, and:

Interviewer: People take the juicy story and run with it. That’s gotta suck, huh? People changing your words like that?
Taylor: Not at all.
Interviewer: (Confused) I’m assuming you’re joking.
Taylor: Very much so.

Heh. Seems like this interview could have benefitted from an injection of chemistry…or perhaps a spritely, sparkling dance tune to liven things up. “Dangerous,” anyone?

3 Responses to “[/rolls eyes]”


  1. 1 Bobo (aka: Billie) December 12, 2006 at 3:20 pm

    “Poor Taylor. “Sorry, baby, I can’t meet you tonight. No, I’ve gotta watch American Idol…yeah, yeah, I promised all these idiot bloggers who call themselves journalists* that I’d watch it. Aww…don’t tell me you’re wearing the lacy thong…”

    * Much like myself, in fact.”

    Now, Me? More the ‘lacy thong’ varity, myself!(yeah, I WISH!)

  2. 3 jay black December 22, 2006 at 10:20 pm

    hey! really nice analysis of my interview. i very much enjoyed your thoughts on the matter — you’re right, it really could have used a chemistry injection!

    all the best,
    –jayblack


Leave a Reply

December 2006
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "

