Memory lane.

I can practically smell the fear on them.Because Taylor Hicks has been streaming for the past week now, and because a deluge of reviews will likely start hitting tomorrow or Tuesday, I thought it’d be fun to dig up an old USA Today interview, done waaaaay back when when Taylor (and Katharine) were but the two lone competitors on an itsy-bitsy reality TV program known to some as American Idol. Both kids were asked what kind of album they’d be putting out. Here’s Taylor’s response:

It’s just going to have to be a really good representation of who I am as an arist. There’s going to be something I’ve never been able to do creatively, before American Idol, and possibly a little bit cutting edge. There are some things in my mind I think would be cutting-edge music. I’m about creating a good piece of artwork.

I hafta say, I do think that Taylor partially achieved this objective. “The Runaround” and “Heaven Knows” are a bit “cutting-edge” to me, because they expertly fuse together some old-school style soul with more modern elements. Even “Just To Feel That Way” brings heartfelt, soulful singing to what could otherwise be just another standard pop ditty. And “The Right Place” is extraordinarily representative of Taylor, perhaps most definitely to those familiar with his acoustic roots. As for the other songs on the album…well, they’re not not Taylor…

Hey, just for kicks and gigs, what’d Kat have to say when tossed the same question?

I’ve gotten (the best) response from people when I do simple melody kinds of things. I definitely want to put out a pop kind of album, have some bluesy sound to it, some soulful sounds. Like Joss Stone. And I love Norah Jones. I think it could be jazzy but also bluesy and contemporary, something that could be in the top 40.”

My my…how times change. I think I must have missed the blues and jazz elements present in “Open Toes.” And, uh, I’m just not feeling a soulful, raw, Joss Stone-style edge on the breathy and weak “Over It,” either. But…I am willing to give the album a chance. After all, we’ve only heard three songs, and it is possible that the album will be more diverse than the leaks seem to suggest. And Kat has hinted that there will be stuff to please the folks who thought they were voting a standards singer through to the final round. As we Idol watchers have become so accustomed to saying, only time will tell…

2 Responses to “Memory lane.”


  1. 1 Bobo (aka: Billie) December 11, 2006 at 11:51 pm

    Got a funny feeling that Kat’s CD is going to be popular with a younger tweeny set of girls. I don’t mind it and I am certainly not trying to berate it, but would I go out and actually spend money on it?….ah, no. I was not a Kat-hater, actually fell in love with her during the auditions, but when crunch time came to making a vote, it was unfailingly Taylor all the way (well except during the bottom three, then Elliot got a few of my votes thrown his way). I just don’t think that Kat’s CD has any chance of appealing to as large a market as Taylor’s does/will.

  2. 2 idolicious December 12, 2006 at 6:25 am

    I think you’re right. The interesting thing about pop/R&B is that it gets you a lot of airplay, but it doesn’t necessarily translate into album sales. However, if Katharine is primarily looking for visibility, not longevity, I can see why she changed her mind about making a jazz album.


Leave a Reply

December 2006
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "

