How this internet thing works (and PS, Kat’s got two singles out)

1. A fan reports that Wal-Mart.com is offering two Katharine McPhee songs for sale as a two-side single on December 19th.
2. Another fan reports that her local Wal-Mart mistakenly put the single out for sale tonight, and that she has a copy in her hot little hands.
3. Uploading, groveling for PMs, and all around adorable spazzing commences, though the fans pledge to not post a public link to the song.
4. Some renegade blazes the forums and, in a stroke of defiance, posts a link to the singles titled “I Lost You” and “Dangerous.” (I’m not posting the link here–the songs were professionally ripped, and I don’t want to cut into Kat’s sales, even though I have a sneaking suspicion that it wouldn’t make much of a difference.)
5. And I post my opinions. Hee.

“I Lost You” is Katharine trying to channel Mary J. Blige, or maybe early Christina Aguilera. The piano ballad is minimalist and lovely, but Katharine’s voice in the opening lines has a fake and forced pouty quality to it. She sounds strong in the beginning, but the song eventually degenerates into breathy background vocals. Kat eventually pulls out her bag of vocal tricks–high trills, strange Taylor Hicks-ish growls–but the song really begins to fall apart at the bridge, where Kat goes for a series of glory notes, and comes off sounding painfully nasal and whiny. It’s amazing how Katharine can go from sounding deep, rich and almost smoky when she sticks to her low and mid-ranges to tinny and almost child-like once she starts navigiating her upper register. The production value on this song is not half bad, but ultimately I have to say that this is simply a poor vocal performance on Kat’s part…and that’s not even a criticism which I can bestow upon “Open Toes,” a song that, despite its other flaws, I think she sings quite well. Oh, and, uh, writers of “I Lost You?” Okay, “I got my degree in cryin'” isn’t exactly Proust, I will admit that…but “didn’t see the missile that sank my love ship down” takes the cake.

Dangerous!Okay. “Dangerous” has too much synth, too much synthy production (seriously, I heard the same sound effects last time I took a ride on Space Mountain on Disney World), and seriously, not enough Kat singing. Aside from the lovely Christina-like melisma at the opening, this really is just another blah dance track replete with nondescript vocalist. I can’t even tell if that’s Kat on the chorus, or if it’s a group of background vocals. And I could be wrong, but I don’t even see this one getting major daytime radio airplay–the song lacks a structured melody and, more importantly, a good hook (I don’t think “he’s dangerous” cuts it).

And this is my main problem with Katharine as a singer–she’s not believable singing about her “dangerous” man (especially the type of “dangerous” man who totes a dog carrier). Katharine has a beautiful voice with an amazing pure tone, but there’s just not an ounce of soul or feeling within her. She’s too rehearsed, too technical, and yes, too concerned with looking pretty. That doesn’t mean she’s not a fantastic singer (she is) who could have a very successful career (she likely will), but she still has to overcome the fact that this was not the image she projected on Idol. Whether the buying public will eventually embrace Dangerous Kat, however, is of course yet to be determined.

1 Response to “How this internet thing works (and PS, Kat’s got two singles out)”


  1. 1 Carl December 15, 2006 at 9:26 am

    I think maybe you’ve unfairly appraised Katharine here.
    “I Lost You” is beautiful– I will admit the beginning does sound a little pouty, but once it gets going it’s heavenly.
    “Dangerous” is catchy and fun– but I don’t think it’s as distinctive as “I Lost You.”


Leave a Reply

December 2006
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "

