Crumbs.

Cindy Wright over at Associated Content nabbed herself an interview with Taylor Hicks, and it’s a little bit different than the usual stuff we’re used to hearing. Some interesting tidbits:

“In Your Time” was the first song Taylor ever wrote, at age 18;

He plans on releasing both Under the Radar and In Your Time “soon” (yaaaay!)

He’d “definitely like to think” about acting in a movie one day (Nooo! Don’t do it, Taylor!)

The Grammy nominations were announced today, and neither Taylor nor Katharine McPhee were nominated for their coronation songs or B-side singles. Shocking, I know! But before you go to the kitchen to drown your sorrows, read an article asking the question you know you ask yourself every time Christopher Cross walks away with another trophy: What’s a Grammy good for, anyway? It’s interesting–the RIAA seems so aware that it’s been deemed out of touch that in recent years it’s taken to nominating new artists not because these artists are necessarily deserving, but because they want to be able to say “See? We nominated Justin Timberlake!” And yes…FutureSex/LoveSounds did get a nom for Album of the Year. Ugh.

Taylor Hicks did a short audio interview with Borders regarding his new album. Not much new information here, but it’s always fascinating to hear an artist discuss the theme behind their music.

Katharine McPhee gave a print interview to Billboard.com, where she dishes a little bit about her upcoming album. Tentatively titled Never Saw it Comin’, the album is described as “rhythm pop.” And why the title? McPhee says it has a double significance:

“I never saw this coming into my life as big as it did, and you never saw this kind of a record coming. You thought I was going to make a Streisand record.”

I think a lot of her fans thought she was going to make a Norah Jones-type album. I personally thought she was going to make whatever kind of album would give her the best chance of landing more cover shoots in CosmoGirl. And just as I questioned the wisdom of Taylor including “Soul Thing” on his major label debut because of the snark potential from harsh critics, I have to do the same with Katharine’s album title, which just as easily lends itself to jokes should it fail to sell well.

MTV.com mined the Idols of Seasons Past for advice to the future Idols. Perhaps most pertinent were Justin Guarini’s words of wisdom, as he would certainly know what not to do post-Idol:

“Really stick to what got you to the finals,” Guarini offered. “That’s the most important thing. I think that at times with my first album, it was a little bit of ‘throw it at the wall and see what sticks,’ whereas I hope with these guys, they’re going to stick with the sound that got them there.”

And finally, today’s this-will-change-your-life song: “If You Can Read My Mind,” performed by Johnny Cash on the album American V: A Hundred Highways. As much as I love music, it rarely moves me to tears…and this morning, this one did. This is an amazing album, one of a series that Cash did with my favorite producer ever, Rick Rubin (ya hear that, Taylor? Serletic’s not bad, but Rubin’s incredible), and the fact that Cash’s illness is so evident in his voice makes the entire album all the more meaningful. This is a dying man’s last opportunity to say goodbye to the world, and it is absolutely heart-wrenching.

Sample and purchase “If You Can Read My Mind”

2 Responses to “Crumbs.”


  1. 1 baxter December 7, 2006 at 6:20 pm

    Kat- Can I tell you that I think I’m starting to get a bit of a girlcrush on you now!!!! Love your writing style. You’re doing a great job…..keep it up.

    *tongue planted firmly in cheek*

    Bet you never saw that comin….!!

  2. 2 idolicious December 8, 2006 at 12:29 am

    BWAH! Aww…it’s always nice to have admirers. By the way, I *totally* want a T-shirt that says “I have a girlcrush on you.” ;-)


Leave a Reply

December 2006
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "

