Dude, it’s called “Google.”

UPDATED: Taylor tells In Touch Magazine that the news outlets got it wrong:

“Reigning American Idol champion Taylor Hicks says he wasn’t biting the hand that feeds him when he told Relix magazine that the “whole American Idol thing is fizzling out for me” and complained that the show pressured him to record the single “Do I Make You Proud.” “Those words were taken completely out of context,” he tells In Touch. “I’m very thankful to have the opportunity to be on American Idol. It’s a show that teaches a lot of young people about music and ties families together. I’m very grateful.” Taylor’s self-titled debut album hit stores on December 12.”

The invented controversy of Taylor supposedly “bashing” AI has, unfortunately, taken on a life of its own. “Journalists” who are apparently too lazy to look up the actual Relix article have taken to bashing Taylor, calling him “ungrateful” and an “ingrate.” Last night, MSNBC’s Scarborough Country brought in Season Two contestant Carmen Rasmussen to weigh in on the Daily News story–and even worse, they completely transposed two of his quotes from the old Relix article to make what he said sound worse than it actually was. This morning, The View‘s Rosie O’Donnell brought the story up, and Joy Behar called Taylor “ungrateful.”

Taylor has multiple press appearances scheduled next week (including a stop by The View) and will be on Ryan Seacrest’s radio show Friday morning, and hopefully the mess can be cleared up then.

You know, it’s not the diss on Taylor that bothers me. He’s always been a polarizing contestant, and not everyone’s going to like him. But what bothers me is the complete and utter lack of fact-checking here. I mean, wouldn’t y’all agree that it’s a sad day for journalism when a full-time student and part-time blogger can whip out original copies of interviews and point out the misquoting and the manipulation, while real reporters, people who actually get paid to do this, blindly accept a tabloid story as fact?

I’m glad to see that Taylor has addressed the issue with In Touch, but “I was taken out of context” is simply the old stand-by and could come off as nothing more than the party line. I’d die to see Taylor go on The View with a copy of Relix in one hand and point out how he was misquoted. It might come off as a bit petty, but it’d sure be fun.

1 Response to “Dude, it’s called “Google.””


  1. 1 Bobo November 29, 2006 at 6:28 pm

    I so totally agree with the last statement (re:whip out the damn copy Taylor…DO IT!)…but unfortunately, in this instance, once again, hes gonna do the gentlemanly thing. You just know he will!
    What eats my butt up is that as far as I can see….its pure laziness on the part of the so-called journalists. Call me spiteful, but if it were me in Taylor’s shoes, I think I would tell ‘The View’ that I decline to attend.
    Yeah, I know, he can’t afford to do that.


Leave a Reply

November 2006
S M T W T F S
    Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "

