You call that a rant?

The New York Daily News has published an article called Taylor Hicks’ ‘Idol’ Rant. In it, among other things, they claim that Taylor told Relix Magazine that he’ll no longer watch American Idol and that he only used the show to further his career.

Unfortunately, the writer (who is uncredited) got their facts wrong. Taylor has stated many times in many interviews that he never watched Idol to begin with, and that it was his brother, a fan of the show, who encouraged him to try out. In the Relix article, the interviewer confesses that he never watched Idol until Bo Bice and Taylor caught his eye, to which Taylor responds “You know what? I don’t watch it either! You can write that.” Again, nothing new and nothing shocking.

As to Taylor “using” American Idol, my question is this: what exactly is Idol there for, then? People presumably go on the show because they’d like to have an entertainment career, not because the thought of being Clive Davis’ puppet for the next five years is particularly appetizing. I’ve always bristled at the criticism that people “use” the show, because really, what is the alternative? How can someone not use the show?

The Daily News quotes Taylor’s contention that Idol is “fizzling out” for him (not as a pop culture phenomenon in general) which…is true. He’s no longer performing on the Idol tour, and now he’s got to establish himself as a credible artist as opposed to just the Idol winner. Additionally, his comments came in response to a question about how his audience has changed from a year ago. See for yourself (the article link is above):

RELIX: The audiences you’re performing for now are probably quite a bit different than the ones you were performing for just a year ago.

HICKS: American Idol, for me, is fizzling out. I want to take that opportunity and exposure: you either come to see me, buy my album or you don’t. I’m not trying to meet expectations. If you can say you’re a working musician, then you’re doing something good. I’m just glad to be a working musician because that’s what I’ve always been.

To me, it seems like Taylor’s talking about the fact that Idol did give him opportunity and exposure, but now he’s on his own because he’s got to gain respect as a musician as Taylor Hicks, not as “The American Idol”. At the end, he says that he’s just glad to be a working musician, which…doesn’t seem like a rant at all, now, does it?

3 Responses to “You call that a rant?”


  1. 1 hezzer19 November 28, 2006 at 12:19 pm

    Hey, just wanted to say I like the blog. Never clicked on your home page before. Props.

  2. 2 idolicious November 28, 2006 at 12:27 pm

    Thanks! It’s a little something I started as an excuse not to study for finals. I’ll probably keep it going though ;-)

  3. 3 azure November 28, 2006 at 11:37 pm

    Kat – Nice Blog! I wanted to tell you that I also sent an e-mail to MSNBC regarding the negative spin on Taylor. Stuff like that infuriates me, and I find it so difficult to ignore it. It’s just not fair to malign this guy and get away with it. So, now I’ve vented and I’ll try to let it go. I hope the negative vibe doesn’t carry over into his appearance at Rockefeller Center tomorrow.


Leave a Reply

November 2006
S M T W T F S
    Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "

