The Taylor Hicks track listing…it starts.

ETADiane Warren wrote one of these?  UGH. 

And ETA again:  Could “Heaven Knows” actually be a cover?  Donna Summer once had a disco hit by the same name.  Taylor covering Donna Summer on his self-proclaimed “brass with ass” album could be very, very cool.


The Q-like Gray Charles has posted the official track listing off Taylor Hicks’ forthcoming album.

01 The Runaround
02 Dream Myself Awake
03 Heaven Knows
04 Gonna Move
05 Wherever I Lay My Hat
06 Give Me Tonight
07 Just To Feel That Way
08 The Maze
09 Places I’ve Been
10 Soul Thing
11 The Deal
12 The Right Place
13 Do I Make You Proud (Bonus Track / Digital Download)

…and here we go.

Now, I know enough not to judge a song by its title, but frankly, I’m a little worried about these tracks.  First of all, let’s start with the tracks that made the jump from Under the Radar (Taylor’s independent 2004 release) to the new album.  “The Deal” is a great song with a fabulous acoustic guitar, so I’m happy to see it being released to the masses.  But “Soul Thing?”  “SOUL THING?”  It’s easily the clunkiest, lamest, most cliche song on UTR.  I really hope Matt Serletic gave it a good re-working (and tweaked the lyrics in the chorus), because Taylor can be a gifted songwriter (see “The Fall” and “Somehow”), and I’d hate his skills to be judged by the relative dreck that is “Soul Thing.”

Second, I’m ever so peeved that “Hell of a Day,” my favorite UTR track, is available as a bonus for those who leave their morals at the door and purchase the CD at Wal-Mart.  Ugh.  I’ll just have to have faith that someone will burn it for me.  Then again, I much prefer the UTR version to the peppier rendition that Taylor’s been trotting out at his public appearances lately. 

And third, just look at the actual titles we’ve got going on here.  Words like “dream,” “heaven” and “tonight” are prevalent.  Too prevalent.  I’m getting the sneaking suspicion that the Invisible  Hand of Clive Davis was indeed hard at work here.  Could Taylor get Biced?  Will “Soul Thing” become the next “The Real Thing?”  Sigh.

But anywhoo, check back tomorrow morning for a review of the sneak peeks that will be posted at Gray’s.  And as always, feel free to leave your comments below.  (But proofread them first.)


0 Responses to “The Taylor Hicks track listing…it starts.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

November 2006
    Dec »

What the kids are sayin’

"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."

"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."

"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "

%d bloggers like this: