AI is baaaaa-ck!

Can’t wait until January 16, 2007 to get your fill of American Idol?  Well, since we’re approaching prime album release season, I’ll start dropping little tidbits about everyone’s favorite season five contestants and what those crazy kids are up to these days.

TAYLOR HICKS

Cap’n Soul Patrol’s self-titled album hits stores December 12th.  So far, no singles have been released, and though we’ve heard tiny snippets of his music on “Access Hollywood,” they weren’t substantive enough to get a feel for anything, and we don’t even know if that song will wind up making the final cut on the album.  What we do know is that Taylor will have a few originals on tap, plus songs written by Rob Thomas (“Dream Myself Awake”), John Mayer, and Bryan Adams (!).  And yes, that is the final album cover.  Look for Taylor at the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, TNT’s Christmas in Washington, the NBC Christmas Tree Lighting, and a possible appearance at the Billboard Awards.  My television boyfriend will also be singing the national anthem at this Sunday’s NASCAR game in Homestead, Florida.

CHRIS DAUGHTRY

DAUGHTRY (yes, this is the name of his band) also has a self-titled album hitting stores November 28th.  So far no single has been officially released to iTunes, though some of his songs are getting radio rotation.  You can listen to samples from the upcoming album here.  My verdict?  I think the band sounds like a Nickelback clone.  I actually had a very difficult time distinguishing the difference between Chris Daughtry’s voice and Chad Kroeger’s.  (Seriously, listen to “Home” and you’ll see what I mean.)  So ultimately, what do I think?  I’m not a fan of 90’s-style alt rock, but Daughtry kind of grew on me as the season wore on.  Ironically, the night I decided that I wouldn’t slit my wrists if he actually took home the crown, he got voted off, but that’s really beside the point.  Anyway, I like his vocal tone, and I think the album will sell well enough, even if it’s a little too generic and unoriginal for my tastes.  

KATHARINE MCPHEE

As my love for Taylor grew and my tolerance of Daughtry increased, my dislike of Ms. McPhee only got more and more fervent.  It’s not so much her voice (because I do think she’s talented) as it is her seeming belief that she’s the next Whitney Houston (she ain’t) or Christina Aguilera, when the general consensus (among her fans, her haters, and the Idol judges) was that her voice was better suited for bluesy torch songs.  It’s also her awful attitude, her general disdain for the other contestants, her hypocrisy (like how she states in an interview that she’s “classy” and would never “do Maxim or FHM” (just search EW.com for it…I’ll link to it later), then turns around and poses for Blender straddling a chair).  Also, her hard-core fans are, for the most part, morons.  (Well…so are Taylor’s, but he somehow managed to capture the hearts of lonely 60-year-old grandmothers with Bedazzlers and too much time on their hands…a dangerous combination.  Kat’s fans seem to be a mix of tweens who worship her Pretty Pretty Princess-ness, horny teenage boys, and diva-lovin’ drag queens who dig her ‘tude.)  Anyway, three songs have leaked out to the Internet, and rumor has it that these are fresh off Kat’s album.  One of them, “Open Toes,” sounds convincingly like her.  And what’s the verdict?  Well…when Pickler releases the better song about shoes, that can’t be good for your musical career.  (Lyrics and download links here.)  Had she tried something new and brought, say, Diana Krall-type jazz into the mainstream, I would have greatly respected her, and probably bought a few tracks off her album.  Suffice it to say that singing about diamond anklets and French manicures isn’t going to win her any critical acclaim.  

UPDATE: Can you write lyrics worse than “The pedicure, white tip french/These legs don’t make no sense/I ‘m not rich but I bought a diamond anklet?”  If so, Best Week Ever wants YOU! 

0 Responses to “AI is baaaaa-ck!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

November 2006
S M T W T F S
    Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

What the kids are sayin’



"I hate them all. The judges, TPTB, the blatant manipulation, the songs, the contestants, everything. I'm a die-hard Cook fan, but for the love of god, at least try to look like you're enjoying yourself up there! Please? Syesha was awesome but she ruined it by being completely shameless and disgusting. Yes, being on American Idol is exactly like the civil rights movement, except for the part where you're fighting to make the world a better place."



"All I can say after the disgusting display tonight of favoritism towards the mediocrity that is David A. - good luck trying to market and make money off of that kid, American Idol. (Not to mention good luck dealing with his father.) All the teeny boppers may buy up his American Idol coronation single, but they will quickly forget about him before the album comes out. And I shudder to think of a David A. album - song after song of unrelenting sameness and heavy breathing. Why they are pimping him for the win is beyond me."



"This show was simply a hot buttered mess tonight. And Jason "needs to be arrested for what he did to I Shot the Sheriff. But I hope he stays. He amuses me. "

